Our Anniversary and Cupcakes Squared

This past weekend was my husband and I’s second anniversary. But it was extra special because we celebrated it as if it was our first anniversary. (Last year he was at sea so we were unable to be together.) Packing for an eight day vacation on Coronado Island, San Diego, we waved good-bye to our place. We had a great list of boating, hiking, swimming, bon-firing, picking up my in-laws,  and making a stop at Cupcake Squared! What better way to celebrate our anniversary then with cupcakes!

While searching for G-free bakeries online I came across Cupcake Squared, in Point Loma. I don’t know how many times I have hung around Point Loma and have never come across this super cute bakery. This being our first trip to Cupcake Squared my husband and I were filled with excitement.

Robin, owner of Cupcakes Squared

Robin, owner of Cupcakes Squared

We found it to the left of a market in a little shopping center. Walking up we noticed a doggie bowl, filled with water, with Cupcake Squared engraved on it. We commented on how sweet it was for them to leave water out for doggies. Walking into the bakery we were welcomed by Robin herself (owner). I was taken by how cute the little squared cupcakes look. Speaking with Robin she told me a little bit about Cupcake Squared. They open 4 year ago and after having many customers inquiring about G-free cupcakes she decided to give it a try. After trying different mixes she ended up working with rice flour, that bakes a dense moist cake. She has a verity of different flavors to choose from and can make everything on her list but smores and cheesecake. They bake fresh every morning and the gluten-free cakes are displayed on their own tray. No, this bakery is not 100% G-free but they go to great measures to keep their products gluten-free. They use a separate mixer and cook the gluten-free products separately.

Another super great quality about this bakery is that if you call and request a gluten-free flavor, off their list of flavors, she can put it on a list to be made during the week! How awesome is that! Robin was super sweet and it was truly a pleasure speaking with her. She had made the G-free Lilikoi, vanilla cupcake with lilikoi (passionfruit) buttercream, and vanilla, hawaiian vanilla with vanilla buttercream, Almond Apricot Squares, and Cranberry White Chocolate Squares that day. She gave us a taste of the Lilikoi and Vanilla cupcakes and we quickly feel in love with the Lilikoi! The taste of the cakes were very moist and, as she said, was more of a dense consistency. The frosting was light and delicious without having an overpowering sweet flavor. These cupcakes have a lovely light flavor that keeps you going back for more bites.

They don’t just make gluten-free cupcakes but also a yummy treat called squares. To me they remind me of a thicker cookie. They would be great with coffee in the evening or warned up with ice cream on top!

It looks like Cupcake Squared has everyone’s well-being in mind. From the gluten-free, vegan, sugar-free, and even doggie customers, Cupcake Squared has something for everyone!

Cupcakes and Squares

Cupcakes and Squares

Saying good-bye to Cupcake Squared my husband and I were off to celebrate our anniversary. After spending a wonderful day of boating we set up our bonfire. Cooking hot dogs (Nathans are G-free) and sharing, Cupcake Squared, Lilikoi cupcake was a great way to finish off our day.

Thank you Cupcake Squared for playing a special part in our anniversary!

Sending a happy anniversary to my wonderful husband! Thanks for supporting me through my gluten-free trail and errors. For picking me up when I am feeling down or frustrated. And for never making me ever feel silly when crying over pizza. I love you! Cheers to another year together. 

Leave a comment